masochism.

30Jan10

they said it was going to snow. and it finally did. and work was cancelled on account of ice. i do love south carolina.

Life was so much simpler before the invent of all this social media stalking.

That being said, the (semi) new Facebook privacy settings make it all the more frustrating for me. This is because I am a social media masochist.

Why do I do it? I have a perfectly great Saturday to myself, folding laundry and making some homemade potato broccoli soup, when I do it. I “check up” on a few randoms from my past life even though I know it will feel like an instant kick to the stomach.

And of course, I save him for last.

The thing that gets to me about these new privacy settings is that people knowingly tease you with the information they allow you to see. In my case for instance, they will allow you to see each and every photo they or their friends upload (like the one with “pre-official divorce late night text message girl’s” arm around him), but they won’t let you see what their relationship status is.

Inquiring minds (mine) need to know! Maybe if I could just know, then it would be one more burden off my mind….or would it just end up being the addition of a whole new, heavier one?

3 Responses to “masochism.”

  1. I think sometimes knowing the truth of our reality eases a certain unsettledness in us. If we are forced to be faced with said truth, it allows us a certain closure… even if the truth is that nothing has changed.

    I appreciate your visit back to my site. I’m glad that you’re getting more than just financial benefits to spending less! Even though, I have to say, I’ve seen your photos and you’re completely perfect in the body you’ve got, I’m happy that you seem enthusiastic about losing a little weight. 😉

  2. Ps. I love the photograph in this post!

  3. 3 Ross

    When someone writes an post he/she maintains the image of a user in his/her brain that how a
    user can be aware of it. So that’s why this piece of writing is great. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

